Smoothie Season

When I was younger, my father used to make fruit smoothies for me and my brother. It was his way of getting us to eat more fruits, without seeing it. ( I had a special diet because of my swimming competitions, but eating fruit was something I did not like to do.

Now, a good 15 years later, I have re-discovered the wonders of making smoothies. My boyfriend has a smoothie maker, that I love using. Not only is a smoothie healthy, it is also quick and tasty!

Two of my personal favourites are:
– Coffee & Banana ( 2 cups of coffee, 1 frozen banana, 75 gr. Greek style yoghurt(fat free), 125 ml. skinny milk and 1 tablespoon cacao powder. Throw it all in the blender until smooth and drink it while it’s cold!)

– Strawberry, Mango & nuts ( 3 frozen strawberries, 75gr mango pieces, 4 pecan nuts, 75 gr. Greek style yoghurt(fat free), 125ml skinny milk. Throw it all in the blender until smooth and drink it while it’s cold!)

What I like to do, to make it even easier, is to prepare bags of the ingredients beforehand. Grab the fruits you need for one smoothie, put it in a plastic sandwich bag and throw it in the freezer. That way when you need it, it is ready to go!

I have been drinking two smoothies a day, one as breakfast and another for lunch. It gives me a full feeling during the day, which prevents me from eating anything else. I do eat normal dinners, but so far in the past two weeks I have lost 6 pounds, my skin is healthier and I have more energy now.

There are so many smoothie receipes to find through Google and Pintrest, it’s almost impossible to get bored of smoothies. Just stock up on frozen fruits, fat free yoghurt (Greek Style) and skinny milk and you are good to go!

Enjoy Spring even more and drink smoothies!

(If you have a receipe that I need to try, please let me know!)

Leave a comment